…photographs by an American living in Ireland

Heron Hunting


 

I love herons. The are so elegant and playful - especially when there are two or three of them flying together. You can really watch them have fun. The thing is, they require a lot of personal space to feel comfortable. So I was really fortunate to get close enough to this fella to watch him hunt for a while. He knew I was there, but so long as I was happy to stretch out on my belly in the wet egg wrack (that brown seaweed) and not move too much, we were just fine together.

 

 

3 responses

  1. beautiful photo! Great work here. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    March 31, 2011 at 14:05

  2. Lovely bird, lovely photo. Thank you.
    Noreen

    March 31, 2011 at 17:21

  3. Very nice shot! I love the way the light catches its head.
    s

    April 3, 2011 at 15:03

Leave a Reply

