…photographs by an American living in Ireland

Making an impression


Trees through tall grasses.

Both of these photographs were made as long exposures with deliberate vertical movement of the camera to creat an impressionistic image. My homage to fine art and nature photographer William Neill. (Unlike Mr. Neill's approach, in the top photo gets its texture not just from the motion of the lens, but also from the grasses in the foreground.) These represent my first two attempts of this technique, and I don't think I'm quite there yet, but I'm pleased for a first go. I hadn't planned to try this technique while I was walking along the banks of the inlet of the Killary Fjord, but finding myself among the tall reeds and grasses I was inspired to try. It would have been more successful had I come into the field with my ND filters - they would have improved the colour, but I didn't want to tinker with them in PS - these are straight from the camera. It's something I look forward to working on as the spring flowers bloom and the fields will fill with wild irises, and a million other blooms. I'm interested to hear people's thoughts on these, on the technique, and on my execution. Please comment or send me an email. Thanks!

2 responses

  1. A.M

    liked the first shot better than the second….ofcourse do agree with the filter stuff….looking forward to more of these

    September 28, 2011 at 09:05

  2. HI A.M and thanks so much for all your wonderful input!! It means a lot to me. I agree: first shot much better – subject matter and all. I have recently reprocessed these, and they look much better now, but to be honest, they are, in retrospect, a weak early attempt. Maybe I should post a before and after image to show how it can be done better. Everyday is a learning process, thank goodness!! 😀

    September 28, 2011 at 09:12

Leave a Reply

